Thirty Named To Fed Cabinet

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau today named a 30-member cabinet that maintains a department of amateur sport, but stops short of reviving a stand-alone ministry of consumer affairs disbanded as an austerity measure in 1995.

A majority of cabinet members, 17, are from Ontario and Québec. Atlantic Canada, which gave Liberal candidates swept all 32 ridings in the October 19 election, four MPs were named to cabinet. Other representation saw two Albertans appointed as the first Liberal MPs elected in the province since 1968. New ministers are:

BAINS, Navdeep Singh – Minister of Innovation, Science & Economic Development: the former financial analyst for Ford Motor Co. is newly-elected in Mississauga-Malton, Ont.;

BENNETT, Dr. Carolyn – Minister of Indigenous & Northern Affairs: the MP for Toronto-St. Paul’s had been Liberal Aboriginal affairs critic since 2011

BIBEAU, Marie-Claude – Minister of International Development: a longtime staffer with the Canadian International Development Agency, Bibeau was newly elected in Compton-Stanstead, Que.;

BRISON, Scott – President of the Treasury Board: the seven-term MP for Kings-Hants, N.S. had been Liberal finance and revenue critic;

CARR, James – Minister of Natural Resources: a former journalist and deputy Liberal leader in the Manitoba legislature, Carr is newly elected in Winnipeg South Centre;

CHAGGER, Bardish – Minister of Small Business & Tourism: the former Liberal aide is newly elected in Waterloo, Ont.

DION, Stéphane – Minister of Foreign Affairs: as Liberal leader in 2008, the MP for Saint-Laurent, Que. led the party to win just 77 seats;

DUCLOS, Jean-Yves – Minister of Families, Children & Social Development: the former Laval economist was newly elected MP for Québec on October 19;

DUNCAN, Kirsty – Minister of Science: the three-term MP for Etobicoke, Ont. had been Liberal critic for sports;

FOOTE, Judy – Minister of Public Services & Procurement: the former broadcaster and MP for Bonavista is the sole Newfoundlander in cabinet;

FREELAND, Chrystia – Minister of International Trade: the MP for University-Rosedale, Ont. had been Liberal trade critic;

GARNEAU, Marc – Minister of Transport: the MP for Notre-Dame-de-Grâce-Westmount, Que. and former Liberal leadership candidate remains the only former astronaut in Parliament;

GOODALE, Ralph – Minister of Public Safety: the nine-term MP from Regina-Wascana as finance minister in 2006 the last Liberal to balance a budget;

HAJDU, Patricia – Minister of Status for Women: newly-elected in Thunder Bay-Superior North, Hajdu is a former director of Thunder Bay’s largest homeless shelter;

HEHR, Kent – Minister of Veterans’ Affairs: a former Liberal member of the Alberta legislature, Hehr defeated incumbent Conservative MP Joan Crockatt, former managing editor of the Calgary Herald, in Calgary Centre on October 19; Hehr was among the first Liberals to win a federal seat in Calgary in 47 years;

LeBLANC, Dominic Leblanc – Government Leader in the House: the seven-term MP for Beauséjour, N.B. is the province’s sole cabinet member;

JOLY, Mélanie – Minister of Canadian Heritage: the former litigator and managing partner with Cohn & Wolfe of Montréal is newly elected in Ahuntsic-Cartierville, Que.;

LEBOUTHILLIER, Diane – Minister of National Revenue: the former Gaspé social worker is newly elected in Gaspésie–Les Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Que.;

MacAULAY, Lawrence – Minister of Agriculture: a nine-term MP from Cardigan, P.E.I., MacAulay is the sole Islander in cabinet;

McCALLUM, John – Minister of Immigration: this is the fifth portfolio for the Liberal MP for Markham-Thornhill, Ont., who served as Minister of defence, veterans’ affairs, national revenue and natural resources in 2002 to 2006;

McKENNA, Catherine – Minister of Environment: a former trade lawyer, McKenna is newly elected in Ottawa Centre after defeating New Democrat foreign affairs critic Paul Dewar;

MIHYCHUK, Mary Ann – Minister of Employment & Labour: newly-elected in Kildonan-St. Paul, Man., Mihychuk is a former NDP Minister of Industry in the provincial legislature;

MONSEF, Maryam – Minister of Democratic Institutions: newly-elected in Peterborough, Ont., the Afghanistan-born MP is co-founder of the Red Pashmina Campaign to raise funds for Afghani girls;

MORNEAU, Bill – Minister of Finance: the former pension advisor to the Government of Ontario is newly-elected in Toronto Centre;

PHILPOTT, Jane – Minister of Health; the family physician defeated incumbent Paul Calandra, former parliamentary secretary to the prime minister, as newly-elected MP for Markham-Stouffville, Ont.;

QUALTROUGH, Carla – Minister of Sport: a former vice-chair of the British Columbia Worker’s Compensation Appeal Tribunal, Qualtrough defeated incumbent Revenue Minister Kerry-Lynne Findlay in Delta, B.C.;

SAIJAN, Harjit Singh – Minister of National Defence: a former winner of the Order of Military Merit, the newly-elected MP for Vancouver South served overseas as an intelligence officer in Afghanistan. Saijan is only the second defence minister in 30 years to have served with the military;

SOHI, Amarjeet Sohi – Minister of Infrastructure: a former Edmonton city councillor, Sohi is newly-elected MP for Edmonton Mill Woods;

TOOTOO, Hunter Tootoo – Minister of Fisheries & Oceans: the former Speaker of the territorial assembly defeated incumbent Environment Minister Leona Aglukkaq in Nunavut;

WILSON-RAYBOULD, Jody – Minister of Justice and Attorney General; the former Crown prosecutor and Regional Chief of the Assembly of First Nations was newly elected in Vancouver Granville October 19.

By Staff

Back to Top